top of page
Evaluation: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureAchal Singh

Science Sector Evaluation

Updated: Feb 2, 2020

Standard Assesed: HS-PS3-3. Design, build, and refine a device that works within given constraints to convert one form of energy into another form of energy.


I believe I have achieved my target for this standard since I have created a prototype that changes one form of energy to another, shown in the diagram below. The constraints for my design were that it could run 24/7 which I have not tested yet but will in the following week, another constraint for the design was that it waters the plants on a consistent basis, meaning that it distributes the water evenly. I will achieve this by creating a drip-irrigation system which utilises the idea of holes in the pipe to evenly distribute the water throughtout the garden bed. It converts electricity from the outlets and 9V batteries into kinetic energy that pumps the water out of the reservoir and into the plants, energy is also lost throughout the system but that is negligible in mine, the energy loss is in the wires, which turns into heat energy and energy is also lost in the 9V batteries due to internal resistence.


Energy Transfer (Sankey) Diagram



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Final Video

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=648Ti50uDNc

Engineering Sector Evaluation

Standard Assessed: HS-ETS1-2. Design a solution to a complex real-world problem by breaking it down into smaller, more manageable problems that can be solved through engineering I feel like I have ach

bottom of page